What constitutes a "use case"?

Hello, I am new to developing with Twitter APIs and have a question about the policy regarding “single use case”.

It seems that it’s not so uncommon to use multiple consumer/access tokens to consume larger volumes of data in a shorter period of time by balancing the requests across multiple tokens. The developer policy clearly states that is is forbidden for single use cases.

But what exactly would a single use case be?

For a specific example, say I want to collect tweets containing certain hash tags and/or phrases related to a specific but broad topic (say politics), and across multiple geographic locations. In this example, would this be a single use case, or would it be multiple use cases?

I have a similar question:

If I have multiple installations of the same application over various customers (onsite or on private clouds), this constitutes a diffrent case for each installation?

If yes, I should somehow provide customer names?

Hello,

Thanks for the questions. When thinking about a “use case” in this context it’s best to zoom out to the broadest level possible. For example, the entirety of a research project generally constitutes a single use case. The entirety of a company’s operations generally constitutes single use case.

To think of this another way, you should only be creating new apps for projects / businesses that are standalone concerns, with zero relation to each other. To use the examples from above -please don’t create apps for geographic subsections of a single research project, or to offer the same service to different customer segments.

To learn more about this issue please review this policy guidance. Thanks again.

We are using the streaming api so each customer can collect tweets that are of his interest (using keywords and/or accounts).

Since, we are talking for different installations, can we use the same app (i.e. key-secret, token-secret pairs) for all of them? I think that this is not allowed.