User_timeline query only ever returns my own tweets

I’m new to using the Twitter API, so I’ve just been learning it today.

I tried this code:

It works but it looks like the code should be listing the tweets for the guy who wrote the example, because the query he is passing in is his twitter username, however when I run the code I see my own tweets.

I’m trying to learn how to export out tweets from someone I follow, so this code looks like it is close to what I want, but:
a) how to I tell it to access the tweets of a different user, and
b) is there a better way to actually export out the tweets from someone I follow?

I’ve tried changing it to various users (I only followed this guy today so perhaps that is why it wasn’t working?) but I tried entering the id of various other people I follow and no luck - still just my tweets.

Also I noticed the code was using “q=” but the help topic on user_timeline said to use screen_name or user_id, so I tried both of these and still I’m only getting my tweets listed.

My access permissions are “read and write”, which I think should be enough.

Thanks for any help!

Hi @bluesky383 - welcome to the community, and to learning the Twitter API!

I don’t have time to test out the code you’ve linked to right now, but here are a couple of clues:

• it looks like the code originally used the search API to find Tweets, and then that was commented out and replaced with the user_timeline
  • in search, you’d use the q (query) parameter to pass in the API call, which is what the rest of the code here is using. For GET statuses/user_timeline, you’re right that you should use the screen_name
  • so - in principle - passing screen_name=<target_screen_name> as the parameter should get you back the user timeline of the user you want to access. Note that the account would have to be a publically-accessible one, not a protected one.

Good luck!

Thanks for looking and your comments.