Twitter's Example Code not working on Arduino

arduino
api

Hey guys, I’m new to the Twitter-Development-verse. I’m working on a mood light project with Twitter & Arduino and was testing my authorization key with the sample HTTPS request Twitter had here:

POST /1/statuses/update.json?include_entities=true HTTP/1.1
Accept: */*
Connection: close
User-Agent: OAuth gem v0.4.4
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Authorization: 
        OAuth oauth_consumer_key="xvxxxxxxxxxog", 
              oauth_nonce="kYjzxxxxxxxx4cg", 
              oauth_signature="tnnArxj06cWHq44gCs1OSKk%2FjLY%3D", 
              oauth_signature_method="HMAC-SHA1", 
              oauth_timestamp="1318622958", 
              oauth_token="370773112-GmHxMAgYyLbNEtIKZeRNFsMKPR9EyMZeS9weJAEb", 
              oauth_version="1.0"
Content-Length: 76
Host: api.twitter.com

status=Hello%20Ladies%20%2b%20Gentlemen%2c%20a%20signed%20OAuth%20request%21

I used client.println() to send these to the server, but I keep getting this in response:

HTTP/1.0 400 Bad Request
content-length: 0
date: Tue, 04 Aug 2015 19:58:49 GMT
server: tsa_a
x-connection-

Very confused – I used my own authorization keys from the ‘Test OAuth’ option we have, instead of the sample code’s, but outside of that it’s just a sample request. Hoping to springboard off of this to my own code so I can search for terms instead of posting tweets, but first, I’m really stuck on why this isn’t working. Any help?

Arduino WiFi Twitter Read Only, App Read Permission

I’ve just spotted that the “Creating a signature” page refers to /1/statuses/update.json, which is no longer valid - should be /1.1/ - we need to fix that.

Hi, thanks for your response! That’s definitely something any person who’s trying my approach should know in advance. However, I fixed that error and am still getting the same 400 Bad Request message sent back. :confused: Any ideas?