Twitter trends showing same results for past several days

Hello, I am relatively new with the Twitter API, but experienced in PHP.

Last week I started developing an application that is using the trends API and it seemed to be going well. However, since Thursday, the results of the API call have remained the same for the US woeid (23424977) , namely:

For the top 5. These items have not changed in several days.

In looking around the internet for other sites using the API and displaying the results publicly, I see this same trends data being returned. However, this is different than the explicitly defined places you can choose on the Twitter website.

I am hoping someone else can confirm that the trends are “stuck” or give me their trending output for the US Woeid so I can compare.

I have confirmed I am not doing any internal caching. I have also implemented the API with several different codebases I found, as well as even tried with a wordpress plugin - same results with trends.

Any assistance/advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Twitter trends places is stuck
Weird - No updates on trends/place

Same here, tried it with twurl /1.1/trends/place.json?id=23424977 and yes, top 5 are exactly the same for me too:

The response also has:

"as_of":"2018-12-25T01:30:33Z",
"created_at":"2018-12-22T23:47:53Z"

which definitely seems like old data, i’d expect as_of and created_at to be within 5 minutes because generally that’s how long trends are cached.

I’m also getting the exact same 2018-12-22T23:47:53Z created_at value for a bunch of other woeids, so it looks like the trends API is “stuck”

+1
Trends have stopped updating since 22nd.

It issue still goes on for other locations like Turkey etc.

I can confirm that this is some regional cache issue. The API is responding with latest trends when queried from Asia region.

I’m seeing this same issue as well. We began receiving reports of the problem from users on Sunday (Dec 23rd).