Twitter Cards for Web (basics)

Hello. I have assumed that the best way of making a user in my website post a tweet with an image is with a Twitter Card. If I am wrong, it would be great to know which one is the best option instead.

I’m new to Twitter Cards, and don’t really get how do they work. I have my website with all the meta tags needed for a Large Image Twitter Card, but… how do I make a button (or link, or whatever) able to create the pop up with the Twitter Card content? Do I have to type some href? I really don’t know, and any help would be appreciated.

My intentions are:

• Once you click a button in my website, open a popup with a text and an image (i guess that would be the content set in the meta tags).
  • Call a callback function once the user shares the content on Twitter (with my web as context, obviously).

And another question. Can I modify the content of the meta tags (via javascript) so the content of the Tweet changes once I click that button/link/whatever? For example, I want the user to be able to change the text in the description, and I allow him to change the default value with an input text, which i will use as content of the meta tag twitter:description. Will that work?

Thank you in advantage.

Could anybody lend me a hand, please? I really need this for my website :wink:

A Twitter card provides three major features: a link preview for your content; attribution for your site’s and webpage’s Twitter account; associating an iOS and/or Android app with your webpage.

A Tweet button populates a Tweet composer, which may include pre-filled text you define, a URL, and hashtags. The Twitter card content for the shared URL may appear alongside the Tweet.

Example Tweet with a Twitter card:

That’s not what I asked at all…