Streaming API times out and I'm new to the API!

Just looking for a simple set of tweets from one user from past year without having to use REST API. The Streaming API times out when I use this: https://stream.twitter.com/1.1/statuses/filter.json?follow=2233154425

The REST API is not an option. I tried it and spent hours parsing 800 rows (from 4 GET requests with the max of 200 tweets each). The REST API returns inconsistent fields, since the fields have apparently changed over a 12 month period. I can’t simply line up the columns in a table and get a good alignment of the fields. And the API returns 500+ stinking columns! That’s the abridged version of my pain in dealing with the REST API. I am a non-coder, so I can’t go any other approach other than API to JSON to CSV (it’s an automated workflow).

I’d like the streaming API to work as advertised and let me do a simple visualization with the data! Can Twitter come to rescue? thx in advance.

An hour later, I tried again and got this message, so apparently I’m spamming the API? Really?

HTTP/1.1 420 Enhance Your Calm

9 a.m. EST. Tried again. This is error I’m getting:

HTTP/1.1 504 Gateway Time-out
ETag:
"586e8258-158"
Date:
Thu, 06 Jul 2017 13:08:11 GMT
Content-Length:
Connection:
keep-alive
Content-Type:
text/html
Server:
Apigee Router

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Error</title>
<style>
    body {
        width: 35em;
        margin: 0 auto;
        font-family: Tahoma, Verdana, Arial, sans-serif;
    }
</style>
</head>
<body>
<h1>An error occurred.</h1>
<p>Sorry, the page you are looking for is currently unavailable.<br/>
Please try again later.</p>
</body>
</html>

Are you trying to use the Apigee API Console, or directly use the API? Unfortunately the API console is unmaintained by Apigee at this time. For the streaming API, you need to have a persistent connection so a request/response format such as the one provided in the console probably is not ideal.