Returning 401 for access_token from desktop app

I am a developer that is new to the Twitter API but have years of experience with REST calls. I have been attempting to add a feature to my C# desktop appllication that posts status updates for a user. I have been working thru the authentication process and have successfully issued the request_token, built the application approval URL, Used the URL in a browser to approve the application and get a PIN. However I have been unable to successfully issue the access_token, each attempt returns a 401. I have included an abstract of my processing flow and was hoping someone could point out what is wrong with my final REST request.

//Build the signature string
        StringBuilder curBaseString = new StringBuilder( "" );
        curBaseString.Append( "POST&" + Uri.EscapeDataString( "https://api.twitter.com/oauth/request_token" ) + "&" );
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "oauth_callback=oob" ));
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "&oauth_consumer_key=MyConsumerKey" ));
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "&oauth_nonce=1D5A4D8A"));
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "&oauth_signature_method=HMAC-SHA1" ));
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "&oauth_timestamp=1365274825" ));
        curBaseString.Append( Uri.EscapeDataString( "&oauth_version=1.0" ));

HMACSHA1 curHasher = new HMACSHA1( new ASCIIEncoding().GetBytes( Uri.EscapeDataString( "MyConsumerSecret" ) + "&" + Uri.EscapeDataString( "" ) ) );
        String curSignature = Convert.ToBase64String( curHasher.ComputeHash( new ASCIIEncoding().GetBytes( curBaseString.ToString() ) ) );

StringBuilder curAuthHeaderParm = new StringBuilder( "" );
        curAuthHeaderParm.Append( "OAuth oauth_callback=\"oob\"" );
        curAuthHeaderParm.Append( ", oauth_consumer_key=\"" + Uri.EscapeDataString( "MyConsumerKey" ) + "\"" );