Rate limits of an app in android using oauth

Hi,

I am new to development and recently found out about the rate limiting feature of GET statuses/user_timeline api.

Now,I have an android app in which I will be using an app only OAuth to fetch the time line of an account. Now according the rate limit, only 300 requests can be made per 15 minute window. So which of the following is correct:

1. Only 300 instances of the downloaded app can make a request in a defined 15 minute window period.
  2. Each instance of the downloaded app can make at most 300 requests in 15 minute window period.

Can some body please answer the above question?

Thanks in advance.

/Puneet

@andypiper @episod @ePirat … sorry guys for tagging you…but thought u can probably help me out on this as u have helped other users… it will be helpful if you can answer my question…

For app only auth, the first statement is true:

Only 300 instances of the downloaded app can make a request in a defined 15 minute window period.

There is no way and not done any distinguishing of App instances. App Auth rate limits are on a per-app base, not app-instance based.

@ePirat first of all thanks a ton for replying to the question

although the answer has rendered the logic used, to fetch the tweets from the timeline, to useless.

Now i will have to think of something else.

Is there any way to make the 2nd statement true without having any body log in with their twitter accounts?

Are you using Fabric or are you hitting the API “raw”?

You could use guest Auth on Fabric as an alternative to app-only auth.

What is your specific use case and why do you need to request a home timeline that often without being logged in?

Hi Andy, thanks for taking out time to reply. I am hitting the API “raw” and not using Fabric.