Quick question

Hi, I’m new to OAuth, but not new to programming. I ran the common example code that gives me a url that contains my pin. from there it let’s me authorize access to my account. Here’s what I’m confused about. Do I need to programmatically bring the user of my app to this page to get their own token? Or is this a one time, developer authentication? I’m developing it as a Java app right now, but may want to publish it for others to use in the future.

Does each new user have to go through this same authentication process? Do I need to provide them the authentication link, have them copy and paste the pin, and then save all of this into their own file, which logs them in each time? This is a desktop application as of right now. Thanks for any help, and sorry for the newbie question, I just can’t find a clear answer for this wherever I look.

If you have the capability to open a web browser and intercept / process a redirect, you could try sending oauth_callback and catching the oauth_verifier value off of the redirect. If that’s not possible (sounds like it may not be in this case) then yeah, each user will need to copy + paste the PIN into your application. Then you would store the access token in a way that is associated with the current user and use that to make Twitter requests on their behalf.

Thank you for the quick reply! Ok that clears this up. Is it against any rules to have this application do all of this in the background? Such as, whenever the application loads, I programmatically load the website, prompt the user ‘Click yes to authorize app access’ from within my application, and if they click yes, have my program click authorize, with maybe htmlunit or some of my own code, and then get the html from the page that gives the token, and strip the token directly through there?

I just want it to be as easy as possible for the end user. Would this violate any of the rules, as long as I allow the user to choose that they authorize access?