Problem with empty OAuth Verifier PIN

Hi all! I am new to the OAuth/Twitter party, but not new to web development. I am currently working on some client-only JavaScript code that performs the OAuth song and dance and posts a tweet. I have it set up to use the OOB method, as this will ultimately end up in a XUL desktop app.

For the OAuth part, I am using John Kristian’s javaScript-only Oauth (http://oauth.googlecode.com/svn/code/javascript/) library.

I am testing it out using a local-only HTML page in IE8 (so i can do XMLHTTP locallly), and it does the following:

1. Presents a button that when clicked, launches (in a new window) the “Authorize myApp to use your account?” and presents the PIN code.
  2. A textbox accepts the pin and upon clicking a button, takes the pin and confirms that it is legit. I get the final set of credentials and store them locally.
  3. I can then post a tweet on behalf of the twitter account i authorized.

*** Everything works perfectly.

However, I noticed this strange phenomenon when i attempt to confirm an empty or bogus PIN code:

1. IF I DO NOT INITIATE THE AUTHORIZE PROCESS (my step 1 above) … and i try to confirm a empty/bogus pin, i get the following error message: 401 Unauthorized: Invalid / expired Token. I can’t authenticate and i can’t post a tweet. Perfectly acceptable, right?

2. However, IF I INITIATE THE AUTHORIZE PROCESS … AND DON"T LOGIN TO TWITTER … and i go back to my web app and try to confirm an empty/bogus PIN, i get the following: 401 Unauthorized. … I do not get back a specific error. Still no authenication and i can’t tweet.

*** Why no detailed 401 message, though???

1. Finally, IF I INITIATE THE AUTHORIZE PROCESS, AND LOGIN to AUTHORIZE and see a PIN… and i go back to my web app and attempt to confirm an empty/bogus PIN, i get a SUCCESSFUL api response! I actually get tokens back that i store and can tweet as if i actually entered the proper PIN!