Problem uploading a photo to Twitter API using update_with_media

I am brand new to the Twitter API, and am having quite a bit of trouble making my script work. Basically, I have a wall of dynamically generated photos, and I want people to be able to post them to their twitter feed. For each photo, I am generating a Twitter icon button, which when click, loads a javascript function, “postToTwitter”. That function contains an AJAX call, which calls a PHP script: “postToTwitter.php”.

Right now, with my PHP script, I am just trying to post a static graphic to my wall, before I start moving on to dynamic image URL’s. Here is my code:

Javascript function: “postToTwitter”;

function postToTwitter() {
	var msg = "Hi there!";
	$.ajax({
		url: 'postToTwitter.php',
		type: 'POST',
		data: ({msg:msg}),
		success: function(data) {
			alert(data);
		}
	});
}

postToTwitter.php

<?php
	require 'library/tmhOAuth.php';
    	require 'library/tmhUtilities.php';

$tmhOAuth = new tmhOAuth(array(
      'consumer_key'    => '--consumer-key--',
      'consumer_secret' => '--consumer-secret--',
      'user_token'      => '--user-token--',
      'user_secret'     => '--user-secret--',
    	));

$image = 'images/cancel.png';

if (isset($_POST['msg'])) {
	    $tweetmsg = $_POST['msg'];
	    $response = $tmhOAuth->request('POST', 'https://upload.twitter.com/1/statuses/update_with_media.json', array('media[]'  => "@{$image}",'status'   => "This is a status"), true, true);

if($tmhOAuth) {
			echo $response;
		} else {
			echo "Your message has not been sent to Twitter.";
		}

} else {
	}
?>

When I execute this code, my AJAX script alerts “0”, and the tweet is not posted. Any idea what I am missing, or doing wrong?

Have you tried isolating the interaction with the API to not involve your AJAX-executed code? Have you tried examining the direct error messages you might be getting back when making the API request?