Misleading Twitter authorization page


#1

There is a new message displayed at the top of the Twitter authorization page that says: “You can use your Twitter account to sign in to other sites and services. By signing in here, you can use AppName without sharing your Twitter password.”

For users who only look briefly at the text (and who doesn’t) there is the impression that they will share their Twitter password with the third party application. It of course says WITHOUT sharing your Twitter password, but that part can easily be missed when new users come to the authorization page.

It already says further down on the Twitter authorization page: “This application will not be able to: … See your Twitter password” So the part about the user’s Twitter password in the alert text on the top is redundant and unnecessary alarming.