How could I get Twitter data for research?

Hi, I’m a researcher, not a developer. I want to get some Twitter data for my research. I found many apps to get data about my account, not about the other’s one. For example, how many accounts are talking about a topic, or how often an account retweet. How can I get this data from Twitter? Are there app useful to do it? Thank you

See Public Streams and GET statuses/sample in particular. Lots and lots of tweets.

Thank you very much for your answer. Can I extract this data if I’m not a developer, and I don’t know jquery? Where can I find useful app to do that?

Did you manage to find out how to do this?

Yes, I’m looking for it

I am PhD at Wageningen University & Research center in The Netherlands. I am doing a research on the influence of Twitter activitiy on the governance of sustainability in agro-food systems. I am now searching for ways to gather and organize relevant data. Can Twitter provide me with more tools/access that allow me to search, gather and organize data?

Good question, we had trouble with this too. So, we fixed it. Check out nowinola.com, we synthesize and analyze all of the twitter data for whats trending in nola. Its a free resource.

@nowiNOLA I can’t go to your website. There is an error. Why?

Typing in www.nowinola.com fixed the issue for me.

Hi Tim,

Have you had any success with this? I can potentially help you if not. msisco@ei.columbia.edu

Best,
Matt

Hi Matt,

I believe I am in a similar situation as Tim. I am a PhD student in Biostatistics and I am interested in accessing the Twitter public streaming data for a project I am working on regarding clustering topics in twitter. I was able to use my application to register my OAuth credentials to start a twitter session, but I don’t know what to do from here. Ideally, I would like to be able to see the activity of different topics over a period of time (not necessarily only trending topics).