First Real Application: Problems getting private xml RSS feed versions of timeline PYTHON

Hey All,

First off let me just say that I wouldn’t turn to this unless it is my absolute last resort. If someone has run into this problem before then by all means just redirect me to said thread, but I could not find anything. I am a novice python programmer and I just wrote my first completely independent (no help) application.

The application I was writing was a robot that would retweet any tweet with a certain tag in it “#sometaghere” from a predefined list of users. How I went about doing this was by pulling a RSS version of the feed using the “https://api.twitter.com/1/statuses/user_timeline.rss?screen_name=User_Name” syntax to grab pages. Once I pulled the source xml down, I went about indexing the entire page for individual tweets using tags, and then pulling out necessary and relevant information from those tweets for retweeting purposes.

So here is my problem. The page of source code that I had been developing this entire application around was a public feed. Anyone could pull down this page because of its permissions, but when I got to my own twitter feed, I found out that I could not access the same source due to the fact that it is private. Now some people would say, just change the permissions to public on the page and problem solved, but there are multiple feeds besides my own which I need to pull down who I would not ask to change their feeds to public.

Summed up, my question is, “Is there any way to authenticate and download a RSS xml source page, like the one’s I would get using the above syntax with a public feed, using a private feed?”