Documentation problems

Hi there. I tweeted at @TwitterDev and they said I should come by here. I’m a long-time dev but a first-time twitter-api dev, and I found the documentation scarily lacking for such a mature product. I don’t want to just come and complain, but as a first-timer, I’ll tell you what I saw and how it violated my expectations. To put this all in context, I was mainly building an app touching streaming API endpoints.

Since I’m a new user, I can’t post a post with a bunch of links, so I had to put spaces and break most of the links. Sorry.

Overall landing page is developer.twitter.com/en/docs

The link for “Filter realtime tweets” leads to developer.twitter.com/en/docs/tweets/filter-realtime/overview.

But actually, there’s two other streaming tweet endpoints, the user and site endpoints that aren’t documented here, but are documented at “Subscribe to your account activity” (developer.twitter.com/en/docs/accounts-and-users/subscribe-account-activity/overview). Oh, by the way, those live under Accounts and users, not the Tweets menu on the left. Also, the Guides under this subheading don’t talk about these two endpoints at all. Reference pages don’t seem to link back to guides at all, so if I want a “softer” view than a reference, I have to guess from guide title and click thru.

Furthermore, Subscribe to your account activity talks about the User and Site stream APIs, but contains no links – as a first timer, I thought maybe those were the statuses/filter endpoint, but it’s not, it’s under (same section) API Reference -> GET site / GET user. I understand now that these live under two different contexts – operating with a user’s auth token or not.

(As an aside, it’s pretty ridiculous that statuses/filter apparently doesn’t support the with parameter, but if I create a user and follow someone else, I can then limit to only their tweets (not tweets that mention them).)