"Connection to Twitter stream was closed after 0 seconds with up to 1 tweets downloaded" message

Hi,

Please forgive me as I am fairly new in trying to make use of API’s in general. I am trying to access the streaming API but receive the following:

Connection to Twitter stream was closed after 0 seconds with up to 1 tweets downloaded.

I am attempting this through R and the package streamR. I do not believe authentication is an issue because I am able to make use functions from the twitteR package. I am not sure how to solve this, any help is appreciated.

I am not sure what is wrong with this account, but creating a new account and attempting this worked.

Can you provide us the sample http request and response that you receive? Also, if you can share your R code it will also be helpful for us.

I’m having the same problem since the last 3 days.
One month ago it was ok. I’m wondering if any Twitter filter stops/breaks my connection due to some algorithm.

The HTTP request is made by streamR and it can be read easily on github or cran-r:

My code is so simple using streamR in ‘R Studio’ to get data:

filterStream(file.name = "filename.json", follow=users, language=c("en"), timeout=60, oauth = my_oauth)

where ‘users’ is a list of screen_name, anyway even if I choose ‘users’ as ids it is the same.

The API responds intermittently even with these (but some time I got data):

1) filterStream(filename, locations=c(-xx,-xx,xx,xx), timeout = timeout, tweets=tweets, oauth = my_oauth)
2) filterStream(file.name = "filename.json", tweets=tweets, language=c("en"), timeout=60, oauth = my_oauth)

The apps I’m using for the oauth are: Sviluporeale, v4lerio.org, DM-Pj2
The same problem with all apps.

Any solutions or explanation?

Update

Today 21-Feb-2015, from 15:49 to 17:45, I made the following request (except for the first 2 rows, for which the request was 1Mln):