Confusion on Developer Policy

Hi

I’m new to the API and twitter data so I’m hoping this is the place to ask this question (please let me know if it is more suited on a different forum).

I’m doing some volunteer analytics work for a charity and I was looking into open social media data where we could track tweets relating to a particular hashtag to analyse the level of awareness there was about the cause relating to the charity.

I was looking to use the free developer account to pull the data for the twitter API and then view results, perhaps in an R Shiny dashboard or Power BI. However I’m struggling to fully understand the terms of the developer account and what exactly you are allowed to do and not do with the data, given that it’s publicly available data.

Some of the terms in section 7 of the policy (F. Be a Good Partner to Twitter) are causing me some confusion. Particularly the terms:

‘If you provide Twitter Content to third parties, including downloadable datasets of Twitter Content or an API that returns Twitter Content, you will only distribute or allow download of Tweet IDs, Direct Message IDs, and/or User IDs.’

And

‘You may not distribute Tweet IDs for the purposes of (a) enabling any entity to store and analyze Tweets for a period exceeding 30 days unless you are doing so on behalf of an academic institution and for the sole purpose of non-commercial research or you have received the express written permission of Twitter’.

Someone also mentioned on an online blog there may be restrictions on storing the twitter data.

Hoping someone can answer these questions (or direct me to who to ask):

• Would I be allowed to run the API every week and then store the results securely (given the free account only goes back 7 days)?
  • Would I be allowed to create analysis based on these tweets (trend graphs, word clouds etc?) given you can’t identify any particular tweet/user from this output?