Clarification request: users/lookup returns 0 to 100 results when requesting 100 results

This goes along with a recently closed issue (link: https://dev.twitter.com/discussions/10460#comment-22594) when users/lookup returned invalid responses.

Now, especially with larger accounts, I request up to 100 IDs and receive either 1 ID, or 100 IDs. It seems to be toggling between these two, but for larger accounts, when reaching deeper into the follower bucket (towards the end), it drops to 1 response per 100 ID requests. I will process the 1 response, and request the next 100 (shifting the requested list basically by 1) and it will return another 1 ID.

Has this got to do with poisoned/invalid IDs in the result set?

My major issue is that I basically burn through the 300+ API requests quickly for accounts with 1M+ followers very fast once it drops to 1 ID responses.

Just curious if there is a work around, or if this is what we have to be working with for now until a change is made on that front.

Thanks again.

Is this a case of you walking through followers or followings for specific users and getting to the oldest user IDs in the collection that may represent now-deleted users? Can you share some of the IDs you’re working with that exhibit this? Is it really a problem with users/lookup as much as you’d just prefer whatever methods you’re sourcing these IDs from to just not hand you these IDs you can’t work with?

I’ll add IDs in a bit, but here’s what we’re doing: