After changing the access level from read to read and write, when a user visits the site and clicks to login via twitter, it correctly redirects to the Twitter authorize this application page and shows the updated access level. When a user clicks “Sign in” the page simply refreshes and does not continue back to the site.
Any thoughts on what may be happening. This only seems to affect users who have connected with Twitter before. It does not go to the “Redirecting back to your application” page.