Change accessibilityValue for tweet entities on iOS using TwitterKit

ios
fabric
twitterkit
embeddedtimeline

Hi! I’m new to the Fabric forum and iOS development in general.

I’d like to be able to change the accessibilityValue for images in each tweet in a timeline. I have found the TWTRTweetEntity.h file where it suggests that accessibilityValue should be overrided by subclasses, but I am not sure how I might be able to set these individually from TwitterKit. I will keep on researching and hopefully find an answer, but if anyone has a suggestion of a place to start, that would be quite helpful :slight_smile:

Many thanks,
Mike

Hey! I haven’t gotten a response yet so thought I would reach out again. Is the accessibilityValue of images something that can be changed in TwitterKit? If so, how might one do it?

Hopeful that this question gets answered for the sake of Accessibility developers!

Mike

Hey @wintersRM4,

Thanks for reaching out on this. Can you share a bit more information about how you’re looking to use this or display these? Is it on specific tweets or an entire timeline or something else altogether?

-Mike

Thanks Mike. Yes, I can.

Basically, if you use VoiceOver on the TWTRTimelineViewController, you hear “Image Attachment” when you flick to an image. This string is in the Localized.strings file. This is not a description of the image, but really just says that there is an image there. Instead, I would like to be able to change this string to something more descriptive. I have found that the TWTRTweetEntity.h file has an “accessibilityValue” string, and I think that means if I change it I can access it for each tweet, I can update it.

Thanks very much,
Mike